Skip to content
May 25, 2012 / Avarielle

My Smash Book of Happiness

Page spread for my many visits to Titanic the Artifact Exhibition

Recently, I’ve had some tiny bits of depression, and along with said depression, came an extreme desire for suicide. Which obviously is not good. So, in an attempt to fight my depression, and avoid having to involve medical professionals, I decided to focus on the happy, the good, and the positive things. Hence I started a Happy Book on tumblr. Which was alright and nice. But what I really wanted was something tactile, something in the real world, and possibly something private where I can record my thoughts.

Me, being the impulsive shopper that I am, bought myself a Smash Book earlier today. It was just a impulse buy, but by the time I got home, I knew this book was going to be my happy book.

results of my shopping spree. 1 Smash Book. 2 pads of journaling papers. 1 packet of paper pockets. And many many rolls of washi/deco tape.

The book doesn’t follow any specific theme. I have set aside a two page spread for the insane nonsense that my best friend and I get up to via Skype and Facebook chat, another spread for my love of astronomy & stargazing, and then? It’s a free for all. I’ll fill the pages as I go along. I might dedicate a page to the Venus transit, considering the astronomy folks here are making it into quite a big deal.

For Smash Book/scrapbook/journal ideas and inspiration, check out the Smash Book blog. Or just stick around here. I might share a few pages here and there.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Dawna / Jul 20 2013 6:17 am

    You know, I am having a lot of depression right now too, and suicidal thoughts are a part of it for me. My Mom and I made cards together, lived together, and she passed away two years ago. I haven’t made a card/papercraft since and recently decided to try it again. It’s hard, but I know she would want me to.
    I had searched for smash books for depression and found your site. I really want to thank you for sharing your feelings and book, it means a lot to me that I am not alone.

Leave a Reply

