Skip to content
April 27, 2012 / Avarielle

100 years to the day

tickets to the museum

Ever since I got interested in ships, and the Titanic disaster, I always wondered how I would commemorate the 100th anniversary of the sinking.

Six months ago, Titanic the Artifact Exhibition made it way to Singapore and at once I knew what I would be doing on the 100th anniversary.

The 14th 0f April was a Saturday, and so I made my way to the ArtScience Museum, hoping to spend a couple of hours at the exhibit. I was sorely disappointed. It had been raining that day and the crowds at the museum was scary. I heard a museum staff mention a wait time of an hour to enter the exhibit and at once knew that I was not going to wait. So I decided to visit the museum the next day.

My luck was much better on Sunday. The mother and I headed to the exhibition in the early afternoon and there wasn’t much of a crowd.

our "boarding passes"

We spent close to 2 hours inside the exhibit, looking at the items. This was my 5th time to the exhibit but possibly the most important. As I walked through the displays, I could not help thinking of the events unfolding a 100 years ago. There was a bit of a crowd but that did not lessen my enjoyment of the exhibit. It was particularly chilling to see the personal items of the passengers. An item that struck me was a child’s toy marble. It really brings to mind the death toll, and how no one was spared, even children had to suffer.

The museum had organized many activities to commemorate the disaster and I was lucky to enjoy some of them.

My favourite was the shuffleboard game. At the turn of the 20th century, shipboard entertainment was limited. Many people would read, write letters, walk on deck, talk with friends, etc. The ships of yesteryears were not as well equipped as our modern day cruise ships. A popular pastime was deck games and shuffleboard was a common one.

I first learned of the game ten years ago when I was cruising on the SuperStar Virgo. That ship has a shuffleboard area and I had my first taste of the game there. It was fun. However, my most challenging shuffleboard game was on board the Queen Elizabeth 2, while sailing through rough seas.

shuffleboard!

I had to give the game a try as soon as I saw the game area laid out at the museum. I still remember how to play!

All in all, a very enjoyable afternoon. When I first got interested in ships all those years ago, I never knew I would be spending the 100th anniversary of the Titanic disaster at the artifact exhibition.

museum folk dressed in Edwardian fashions

Leave a Reply

