Skip to content
October 30, 2011 / Avarielle

The Titanic Experience

So this happened today.

How do you describe the exhibit that you have waited 14 years to visit? The exhibit that you never imagined you would visit because awesome things like this never came to your part of the world.

Today, I got to finally realise a dream, a dream I had since I was 11, 14 years ago, to visit the Titanic Artifact Exhibit. Remember this post I did? Well I got picked.

So the best friend and I, along with the other winners and their guests, went for The Titanic Experience today at ArtScience Museum.

Your regular ArtScience Museum entrance ticket

Of course, you can't board the Titanic with just any old museum ticket. What you need is a boarding pass! Here's mine! (photo obviously not taken at the museum. I took it at home. ps. Titanic books make a great backdrop.)

We were taken around the exhibit by Faiza, our docent. (I hope I’m getting her name right.) She was downright amazing. She knew tons of facts about the Titanic and even stuff that I never knew. I was so impressed, and even the best friend could see that.

The exhibit takes you on a journey, a story of the Titanic, from the construction to the voyage to the discovery and salvage efforts. As you walk through the exhibit, you’ll find the artifacts in glass cases (don’t touch! they are fragile!), info panels and real life mock ups of places on the ship.

(As you can see or rather read, I’m trying not to give too much detail away. I don’t want to tell you everything. Just go to the exhibit and see for yourself. HAHA!)

There were many times in the exhibit when I was speechless, just out of awe. Imagine, seeing something that you have only seen online and in books, right in front of you.

After touring the exhibit, we went to do a letter writing activity. You must be thinking, letter writing? What has it got to do with the Titanic? Quite a bit, really. The Titanic was a Royal Mail Ship or Steamer(RMS) as the info panels at the museum say. Basically, the Titanic carried mail across the ocean. So there is a connection.

The letter writing "kit". A quill pen - actually a ballpoint but who cares. An envelope. And special Titanic paper! The other folder paper is a brochure.

Since I didn’t have anyone to write a letter to, and I completely forgot the US-based best friend’s address, I wrote a letter to myself. US-based best friend is my online partner-in-crime, fellow Titanic buff and all round awesome person.

See! Wax seal - ArtScience Museum style! Awesome, no? Also, my pink quill.

Then we posted our letters and the letters will be sent out – soon-ish I hope.

I got to meet Captain Smith, the Titanic's captain! Such a lovely gentleman.

I also got to meet some newsboys - I think that's who they are.

I also picked up a copy of the exhibit book. (as always, Titanic books make great places to take photos. for all you curious folk, the book at the back is Extra Titanic, basically it has reproductions of articles of the ship in the newspapers of the day.)

My verdict: GO FOR TITANIC THE ARTIFACT EXHIBIT! GO, JUST GO! You will enjoy it. If you have watched the 1997 James Cameron movie, you will enjoy it. If you’re a Titanic buff like me, be prepared for your mind to be blown. If you’re just curious, just go! Just remember, you’ll want to spend time reading the info panels so give yourself at least an hour to go through the exhibit.

I think I have made my point.

Last but not least, I would like to thank ArtScience Museum for an amazing exhibition and a most enjoyable afternoon. When they said The Titanic Experience, they were NOT kidding about the Experience bit. It truly was an experience.

For more information, check out ArtScience Museum’s website, Facebook page or their Twitter.

I’ll leave you with a couple of links to my favourite Titanic websites. Encyclopedia Titanica has information on JUST ABOUT EVERYTHING you want to know about the Titanic. If you’re into scale modeling or just interested to know about a specific part of the Titanic, make sure to stop by Titanic Research & Modeling Association(TRMA). Of course, we can’t forgot RMS Titanic Inc’s official website, they’re the folks who brought up the artifacts. These sites are amazing resources and have been around for ages. I was surfing Encyclopedia Titanic and TRMA back when I first got into ships, in 1998.

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Girish / Nov 3 2011 12:49 pm

    Hi – can see your pics. Nice blog though.

    • Girish / Nov 3 2011 1:03 pm

      I meant can’t see your pics.

      • Avarielle / Nov 3 2011 1:05 pm

        I see. The pics are showing up for me. I’ve hosted them at photobucket, so if you have blocking, the pics might be blocked. Not too sure.

        Sorry I can’t help much.

Leave a Reply

