Skip to content
October 1, 2011 / Avarielle

a Titanic trail of Southampton

I was 11 when I first heard of the Titanic. The year was 1997 and the Cameron blockbuster was due to be released at the end of the year. With all the hype surrounding the movie, I could not help but get curious and want to know more.

My curiosity lead me to learn about the ship and the disaster. Southampton immediately went on to my “list of places to visit”.

It took 10 years for me to finally achieve that dream.

In 2007, I, along with my mother, was in Southampton to achieve another dream – to sail on board the Queen Elizabeth 2. That trip was a 21st birthday present from my parents.

Since we were in Southampton, it made sense to go in search of the Titanic memorials and sites I had read all about for the past 10 years. Here are the photos and tales from our explorations.

It has been a number of years since that epic trip. Some of the details are fuzzy and I may not remember everything. However the photos here will tell most of the story.

Sit back. Enjoy. And let me take you on a Titanic trail of Southampton.

Southampton Maritime Museum

Close up of the sign on the front of the building. The dots and dashes is Morse Code and stand for SOS.

First stop, the Southampton Maritime Museum. I don’t recall much of what was in it. It mainly focused on the impact the disaster had on the city of Southampton. I recall display of Honour and Glory Crowning Time. This is the clock that graced the landing of the Grand Staircase. Of course this clock is not the one from the Titanic. It is actually from the Titanic’s sister ship, the Olympic.

Next stop, and probably my favourite memorial of all, the Engineers’ Memorial.

The Engineers' Memorial

Close up on the text in the middle

That was the last memorial for the day. It was getting late and we had to go back to the hotel. We had a ship to catch the next day. But that was not the end of the Titanic trail. We still had three more memorials to visit.

The following week, following a most enjoyable nine days on board the QE2, we were back in Southampton. As our ship prepared to dock at the cruise terminal, I recognized the dock from which the Titanic sailed from. And there was photos.

the Titanic's dock. She docked close to where that crane is.

Back on dry land, we resumed our search for Titanic memorials.

The next memorial we visited was the Memorial to the Postal Workers. Back then, mail was transported across the ocean via ship. White Star Line, the Titanic’s owners, had a contract to transport mail. Thus, their ships carried the prefix RMS – Royal Mail Ship.

This memorial was located inside a post office. Thus I couldn’t spend as much time there as I liked. Since getting in people’s way obviously wasn’t a nice thing. I just took a couple of photos.

Memorial to the Postal Workers

Our next stop was just down the road. The memorial was located inside the Holyrood Church. This church was built during the 1300s and much of it was destroyed during the Second World War.

the Holyrood Church memorial

image relief of the ship found on the memorial

much of the original words on the memorial have faded due to the passage of time. This plaque reproduces the text.

An audio information post next to the memorial. It wasn't working when I gave it a try.

After the Holyrood Church, we went in search of our last and final memorial – the memorial to the ship’s musicians. We had some problem searching for it. Ironically it was just across the road from the Engineers’ Memorial. I spotted it from across the road and it took all my willpower not to run across.

Memorial to the Titanic's Musicians

That brings us to the end of our Titanic trail. I hope you have enjoyed this. I sure have.

Leave a Reply

