Skip to content
August 24, 2011 / Avarielle

In which I travelled to Mars

So … This entry is very very late. Just so you know.

In early April, I convinced the best friend to travel to Mars with me. Okay I am kidding. We visited the Science Centre’s Mars exhibit.

The exhibit area

On the walls

A Mars Rover. Probably a concept. Even though I thought it was Opportunity at first.

Another robotic explorer on the Red Planet

A topographic map of Mars

a blue-red 3D image. They had 3D glasses around for people to use. Pretty cool. Except that looking at 3D images for too long gives me a headache.

And I’ll end this entry with a photo of what is probably my first favourite space exploration vehicle….

Sojourner!

Side story time!

Back in 1998, when I was still receiving the National Geographic magazines on a monthly basis, one of the issues at 3D images of Mars. These images were from the Pathfinder/Sojourner mission. Thus, Sojourner was my first favourite Mars rover. Spirit, Opportunity came later. And of course missions like Cassini-Huygens, the Voyagers and Juno were recent interests.

Leave a Reply

