Skip to content
March 15, 2010 / Avarielle

Why do I write?

A few weekends ago, I attended the All in! Young Writers’ Seminar. Which got me thinking: Why is it exactly that I write?

I know my writing is laughable at best and won’t be on any bestseller lists. Yet I write like a possessed fool when I have the mood to – which is often.

To be honest, I write for a very simple reason: to fight off depression and sadness.

This was especially evident two years when I was in Australia and suffering from a horrible bout of homesickness and apparently I was missing the QE2 and that added to my depression. I had sailed on the QE2 the December prior to that.

Whenever I felt the slightest bit of sadness, I would open a word file and start typing – until the sadness went away or I got too tired and went to sleep. It did help, if you’re wanting to know.

The reason? Writing helped me distract myself from my miserable state. Instead I was able to mentally transport myself to where I was happiest – back on board the QE2.

Perhaps, that is why, to this day, I like writing cruise stories so much. Because they’re my way of being happy.

Leave a Reply

