Skip to content
March 5, 2010 / Avarielle

Ship Spotting: Queen Elizabeth 2

Well .. This month’s Ship Spotting will be early. Firstly because I have a crazy pile of school work that needs to be completely by the middle of the month. And secondly because today marks the 2nd anniversary of the last time I saw the QE2 – for good.

March 5th 2008 – Perth/Fremantle, Australia.

Woke up around 6+ in the morning, hoping to catch something interesting on the QE2 webcam. And I was not disappointed.

I had hoped to watch the docking procedures but sadly, i had a class at 8am. So I lingered at home until around 7:50 then ran to class.

Sidenote #1: I was staying at a private student hostel close to school then. Close enough that I can get to class in about 10 minutes.

Class passed too slowly for me that day. I kept checking the time on my mobile phone, hoping for 10am when the class would end. But the class finally ended and I literally ran out of the classroom and back home.

After dropping my school stuff – which included a A3 pad of paper – at home and grabbing my camera, I headed to the city to meet a friend who was going down to Fremantle with me.

On the train from Perth city to Fremantle, I saw many families with small children. I guess it was QE2’s visit that drew them to Fremantle. Then again, Fremantle is rather quiet on a weekday.

As we got nearer to Fremantle, many people in the train started getting really excited and looking out of the windows for any sign of QE2. I was sitting there with a bored look on my face. To that, my friend told me to stop pretending to be bored since she knew I was very excited.

Long story short, we finally got to Fremantle around 1-something.

Then we wandered around doing various things like eating and visiting a knitting store – where I spent too much money.

Finally we headed down to the harbour to see the QE2.

You don’t know how happy I was to see the ship again.

We wandered around the area and I was taking as many photos as I could.

Sadly, we had to leave for the city since we both were lacking in a car. I sat in the train and stared at QE2 for as long as I could.

last photo I took of QE2 - ever

Then, when I got home that night, i sat on my bed and bawled like a baby since I was missing QE2 like crazy.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Isabelle / Mar 6 2010 2:32 am

    Thank you for those memories, Avariel. I am so glad you managed to get to Fremantle and have a proper farewell moment with QE2 — what a lovely sunny day you had, and what great photos you got! And those last photos… so meaningful for those of us who had that opportunity…

  2. Kathy / Mar 6 2010 5:02 am

    Nice, but sad, memories! I think we all (the QE2 crowd!) have that one, last, tearjerker photo – thanks for sharing yours!

Leave a Reply

